Well vacation week has sadly come to an end and classes have begun. Today was day one of classes at La Universidad de Belgrano. Since my last post I have been busy but not as busy! On Wednesday I had school orientation which was a lot of Spanish and kind of long... but we made it through! The next day we had to meet with our advisors and pick out our classes. My classes are as follows: Latin American Literature, Argentine Literature, Latin American Culture, and Advanced Spanish A... not that that is very interesting but just thought maybe I should include it haha. The same day we went down Cabildo street and went into all the small clothing boutiques- they have so many. Here there are no big clothing stores (that I have seen anyway) there are just many small boutiques with cute clothes. Later that night we had our food and culture night with the CEA program. We were fed empenanads... if you haven't been able to tell empenadas are very popular, and very delicious! I think I could eat them everyday... We also learned how to prepare mate, which is a tea drink and it is delicious also. Everyone drinks it here! Not much happened on Friday and Saturday, however, Saturday night we tried to go to a "free" Jack Johnson concert. We got there and found out even though it was free you had to have a ticket to enter and we had no idea how to get the tickets so we sadly could not see the show. We did sit outside for a while and listen to it since it was an outdoor concert but it as still pretty hard to hear. Later that night we went and did a little exploring in Palermo! Then here comes Sunday and we all went to check out the open air market in Recoleta. There were so many stands and so many things to buy- I don't know how I only bought one thing! It was a great place and I want to go back next weekend. Now we are up to date with Monday. Today was my first day of classes, they didn't start until 1:00 and the ended at 5:30, just kind of how it is here! Classes went great, I like my professors, and most importantly I can understand them very well! Everything has been fantastic while being here but now I have homework and school- I kind of forgot about that part of the trip. Can't I just do the abroad and not the study part in "study abroad" haha. Even after saying that I am looking forward to my classes and looking forward to improving my Spanish. That is all I have for now- a lot shorter than my last post! Until next time.. Adios!
Grandma Kath
3/10/2014 09:10:53 am

Love empanadas!!!! You can fill them with anything.

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    Just a college student following her dream to travel the world. 

    Archives

    No Archives

    Categories

    All