Picture
Well I have had another busy and eventful week! I have officially completed my first week of Argentinian classes, I went to Uruguay for a day, learned to just accept the fact that rain won't hurt you, celebrated Saint Patrick's day with over two hundred international students and ate some delicious food. Today started week two of my classes, so far they are all going well. They are definitely going to be challenging but that is what I signed up for I guess! I will need to do a lot of reading every single night.. My teachers will say "okay read the first chapter for homework." and you go home to find out that it's 23 pages full of Spanish words that you don't know.  I am sure with time it will get easier but yikes! So much reading and looking up words. Enough of boring old school... I got to go to Uruguay for a day! On Friday we took a ferry across the river to Colonia del Sacramento- it only took an hour. We got to spend the day around the small, old, beautiful town. We got to visit the beach and many historical sites. It was great to just take a step back from the busyness of Buenos Aires and to relax and walk in the streets of Uruguay where cars will actually stop for you if you are crossing the street! I absolutely loved the town and took many pictures. It is crazy how a town so different from Buenos Aires is only one hour away. We had a bus tour and also got to walk around and see the town by foot. We then went to a restaurant/hotel for lunch and holy cow I have never eaten so much food. When we got there, there was a buffet of food and we dug in- we were starving. There was every possible kind of meat in the buffet and then there was also delicious deserts. After loading plates full of the buffet we learn that we are also ordering a main course meal. So much food, but so happy. We also had desert- my favorite was the fruit pizza, oh my goodness I want more. After we finished lunch we had free time where we just got to walk around and do whatever we pleased for about an hour before heading back to Argentina. It started to rain when we were heading back to the boat to take to Buenos Aires. Once we arrived back to Buenos Aires we saw that it was pouring down rain. We were planning on getting a taxi because the subway station was a good 20 minute walk away. We went to stand on the street looking for a taxi and ended up walking all the way back to the subway station... lets just say we were dripping wet by the time we got back. We finally got on the subway and it is the most packed I have ever seen it- nobody had room to move. It took us a long time to get back, especially because we missed our stop to get off and switch subways lines. After an extremely long day of travel we arrived at home and it was empenada night- which makes everything better. Friday was an amazing day full of laughter and beautiful sights. Saturday was a great day too, I got to finally go on a run through a beautiful park near my house. It was great to finally get outside and do a little exercise. After that my friends and I decided to get lunch and go shopping. Saturday night we all participated in a bar crawl for international students for Saint Patrick's Day. It was a fantastic time, we got to meet so many people from all over the world and also got to see many bars and a club!  I met so many people and it was definitely a night to remember. Sunday was more of a relaxing day, we all met up to get some lunch and oh my goodness was it delicious! I ordered a calzon and it was absolutely delicious. I am so glad I had leftovers! Sunday night finished with just relaxing and doing homework. This week has been a busy one, and I have a feeling they all will be and I am completely okay with that. I will post on here as much as I can. Chow for now! 

Hance
3/17/2014 11:57:33 am

Hey! So I'm a freshman SIUE student and I've been looking through some of the study abroad stories on the SIUE Study Abroad page to sort of get a feel for the programs (mentor showed me the page), not really sure if it's for me yet but your blog makes it sound so awesome! Sorry if I'm like totally weirding you out right now lol but just thought I'd let you know. Thanks for blogging! :D

Reply
Katie Minnis
3/17/2014 10:23:34 pm

Hey! Thanks for reading- if you have any questions just let me know. You can e-mail me or facebook message me! I would love to help you figure things out. Just one general tip of advice- everyone should study abroad in their college career! Feel free to send me a message!

Reply
ann
3/18/2014 07:37:23 am

Hi Katie!
You've got yourself quite a full schedule there! Maybe, just maybe, at some point you will learn to cook authentic Argentinian food! Yum. :-)
Love ya

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    Just a college student following her dream to travel the world. 

    Archives

    No Archives

    Categories

    All