Picture
Well I am back! again,sorry it has been about two weeks since I posted last, I guess this is becoming an every other week thing instead of every week. These past two weeks have been incredible, this past week in particular. Why you might ask? Well my family came to visit me! It was so fantastic and I wish it didn't have to go by so quickly. We had 5 days of non stop activities and it was a blast. On Sunday morning I woke up and took a taxi to the airport to pick up my family, I was so excited- like a little child on Christmas Eve. They finally got here and I couldn't wait to show them my new town I have been living in. I gave them no time to rest from their 12 hour flight and we got right to it! We checked into the apartment we were renting for the week, dropped off our stuff and off we went! We went to the San Telmo open air market- my mom and I were in heaven. We did lots of shopping but soon hunger got the best of us and we stopped at a burger place. They were pretty good! One thing that was interesting was the "lemonade" that Zack had ordered... It was not lemonade, it literally tasted like a Christmas tree, so we don't know what that was all about haha. After we ate lunch and shopped a little bit more and then we headed back to our apartment to change and get ready to go to a soccer game! We took a bus to the River Plate stadium, well lets say it was crazy! Just getting into the game, there were many checkpoints you had to get by and we had pat downs... lets say mine was very thorough haha we finally made it into the stadium and found our seats- got to sit second row! It was fantastic. The crowd was great and so energetic. We all wish we knew the chants so we could chant along. The best part of the game was when River Plate scored a goal- everyone went crazy! It was so much fun. After the game we went to go find dinner. We of course went to a steakhouse- what Argentina is known for: meat meat and more meat. We had to wait for a while to sit down since we didn't have reservations but oh it was worth it. Very delicious food! Lots of steak, wine, and yummy desert (got creme brulee and tiramisu) We headed back to our apartment after a busy and tiring day. (this was just day one!) Monday comes around and we head over to the Belgrano area so I can show them my neighborhood, home, and school. My family got to meet my host parents... I had to be the translator because my family knows no Spanish and my host family knows now English. Let's just say it was a very short, basic conversation haha. We then went to a restaurant and ordered pizza. It was delicious! My family walked around while I had to go to a class to give a presentation. I am so proud, they didn't get lost! I met back up with them and we headed back to the apartment. We hung out at the apartment for a little bit then decided to walk around. We found a restaurant/bar and got drinks and I had them try a couple empenadas. We then left the bar to head back to our apartment. Monday night we went wondering around to try and find a good restaurant for dinner, we were out around 8:15 (early for Argentinians to eat dinner) and came across a restaurant that was just starting to get a little busy so we decided to eat there and oh boy did we get lucky. Some of the best steaks of our lives! We ate outside and it was a pretty causal restaurant but they sure know how to cook! After our delicious dinner we walked around to find some ice cream. We then walked home on our overly full belly's and went to bed. Now it is Tuesday. Tuesday was a busy day! We got up and I of course brought them all pastries from a bakery because that's just how they do breakfast here... Tuesday we had our street art/ graffiti tour of Buenos Aires. It was about a 2 hour tour that ended at a bar/restaurant. It was a very interesting tour and there are so many talented paintings up in Buenos Aires! Graffiti is technically illegal but you won't get into trouble for doing it so it is kind of legal.. haha Right after our graffiti tour we went directly to our cooking class. Ohh the cooking class... so delicious. The cooking class was in an apartment. It was just our family and Gary who is a chef from New York! In this class we got to make homemade empenadas, flan, and dulce de leche. All from scratch- ohh my goodness it was delicious! I want more... the empenadas- we made meat ones and vegetarian ones (had squash and corn and all sorts of deliciousness!) The flan was delicious and so was the dulce de leche. I wish I could have stayed longer or wish I could have learned more. It was so delicious :) The next day is now Wednesday! We had to get up fairly early this morning because we had to get to the airport to make it to Iguazu Falls! The flight is short, only two hours. We got there went to our hotel, dropped our stuff and then rushed over to the falls- we were running later than we thought! We were able to walk around the falls and even had time to do the boat ride I had told you about in my last update. Where they take you practically underneath some of the falls and you get soaking wet! It was an absolute blast. Even though I was in Iguazu about two weeks ago I still absolutely loved it- I don't think anyone could grow tired of that place! After we finished up at the falls we went to go look for a place for dinner... and yup, its probably hard to guess what type of restaurant we went to- another steak house. This one was outside, with live music and a balcony. It was so relaxing- I could have stayed there for forever. It was great. Great food and fantastic company :) We then went back to hour room to go to bed, we had a long day and we were exhausted. So now it is Thursday! We had to get up and eat breakfast then make it back to the airport to go back to Buenos Aires. We made it back to Buenos Aires in the early afternoon. We then stopped by the apartment to drop off our things then we were off again! We decided to visit the area of La Boca- the extremely colorful district of Buenos Aires. We walked around and ate lunch while watching the Tango! After we finished our time in La Boca we took the bus back into the center of town. We then searched out Cafe Tortoni- the oldest cafe in Argentina for some churros and chocolate. With our belly's full we headed back to the apartment. Thursday night we hung around for a bit and my mom and dad had their date night. When they got back my brother Ben and I headed out for the night. I thought I should show him what an Argentinean night was like! We went to a bar and then to a club afterwards. Even though we couldn't find each other for about two hours we finally did and made our way home. It was an absolute blast! He can now understand that coming home when the sun is starting to come up isn't that uncommon here! It was definitely a night to remember. Friday morning comes along- lets just say it was a struggle to get up for my brother and I. We got up and had to pack up the room because we had to check out. Today was the day my family had to go back to the US :( sad day. Before they left we went  to the area of Recoleta to see the Recoleta cemetery- a very famous and beautiful cemetery here in Buenos Aires. It is incredible. After walking around that for a little bit we went to the Recoleta open air market. My mom and I of course bought lots of things! After doing our shopping we got to sit in the grass and relax while listening to live Spanish music. It was a perfect way to end the week. After hanging out for a while it was sadly time to go so they wouldn't miss their flight. They left that Friday evening and I went back to my home here in Buenos Aires. The week with my family was absolutely amazing and I wish it didn't have to end so quickly. Yes, I have never felt so much like a mother with four grown children before but it was worth every second and I would do it again in a heartbeat. I loved having them here :) It was sad when they left, I miss them a lot already but two more months and I will see them again! It was a great week and definitely one I will remember forever. The rest of my weekend was pretty chill, I didn't do much- I just needed to catch up on some sleep from my busy week I had! This week has gotten into full swing- one of our first full weeks of school since about week two. Have lots of homework to do but writing in my blog is such a great way to procrastinate! I will hopefully check in soon- next week is midterms! Thanks for reading! To all my friends and family- miss you all! besos a todos! <3 




Leave a Reply.

    Author

    Just a college student following her dream to travel the world. 

    Archives

    No Archives

    Categories

    All