Picture
I will start off by saying sorry it's been two weeks since I posted last! I have been pretty busy. I will try to remember it all and share it with you all! Let me see... where to start? Well last week wasn't too eventful. One amazing thing I went to was La Bomba. This is an event that going on every Monday night. You pay your admission and then it is a show with 14 people on stage with all different types of drums and it is all made up on the spot! It was amazing and an absolute blast! I will definitely be going more often. My friends and I got lucky, last week was Buenos Aires' first Lolapalooza (no, I did not attend) but there were many bands in town and two famous Argentinean bands guest appeared at the show and everyone was going crazy! I did not know who they were but it was a blast. The show was amazing and I do not understand how they can just make that all up on the spot, it was very impressive and such a fun time! Something else that occurred in these past two weeks was I went to the Burger Joint (name of the restaurant) I feel the need to share it because it was absolutely delicious and it well known. They have great burgers, they have regular ones, the Jamaican, Mexican and the American. I got the Mexican, it was delicious! The burger included the burger, tomato, spicy sauce, and guacamole. Oh my goodness so good! I will definitely be returning. Humm.. what other little things did I do? Well I went to the mall, it is huge- four stories tall and I probably spent money I shouldn't- but that has become a theme with my time here! Well I have just been going to school, yes even though I believe my parents are having a hard time believing, I am going to school! haha Classes are going well, I have noticed my listening skills have improved a lot, I need to practice my speaking more but that has also improved which is always great to notice! haha But now onto the best part of these past two weeks... My trip to Iguazu this past weekend. Oh my goodness... words cannot even begin to explain, but I will try. Friday morning we met early to take our flight to Iguazu, it was only a two hour flight. We arrived and went straight to an animal reserve. We saw many cool birds, like tucans, and we also got to see some adorable monkeys. The reserve was all outside throughout the rain forest and we walked on a path. One of the most memorable parts of the animal reserve was the gigantic spiders we had to walk under. They were huge, I have never seen any so big in my life. Thankfully we didn't see an tarantulas but these spiders were huge and all over the place! yuck! We spent a few hours there and then left to go eat lunch, of course we had lots of meat! We then checked into our hotel and had a little free time. FORGOT THIS PART: After free time we drove to a port and hopped on a boat. We took a boat ride down the river that separates Brazil and Argentina. We then went to where two rivers meet, at this point you can see three countries: Paraguay, Brazil and Argentina. Therefore I was pretty much in three countries at once! It was such a relaxing boat ride and something fun to do. I am just very excited that I can now say I have been in three countries at once! haha The boat tour was about two hours long and after that we had a little bit of time until dinner that night. We hung out around the pool, because well it was about 90 degrees and humid! We needed the pool! We then had dinner, which was a buffet and it was delicious. We always eat so well on these trips! Then it was bedtime because we had a full day the next day! We woke up early Saturday morning to have breakfast and then off to the Iguazu National Park. We walked to a small station to hop on a small train that took us closer to the falls. Once we got off the train we had to walk about 20 minutes and we first went to the Devil's Throat (name of the waterfall). It is the largest and most powerful waterfall of Iguazu Falls. Oh my gosh, words seriously cannot begin to explain how incredible it was. You stand so close to the falls and you get drenched with water. I could have stayed there for days just looking at the marvelous falls that were right in front of me. It was so amazing! We then went back to the train and took it to another station where we had a lot of walking to do! There were paths that went along the falls and we got to see them from all different angles. Every single view was spectacular and any photos you see do not do any of the falls justice. We walked and admired the falls for hours and then in the afternoon we got lunch and then afterwards got to go on a boat ride that went very close and almost under the falls. We get on this speed boat and they give us bags to put all our valuables in so they don't get ruined. They then took us close to the falls and we get to take pictures but then they told us to put everything away and they then sped towards these huge waterfalls and took us very close to the falls and we got drenched with water, you couldn't even see anything! They then took us to the Brazilian side of the waterfalls and practically took us underneath them because they are smaller but still powerful when you're underneath them! It was seriously a blast and one of the best things ever! It was only 15 minutes long and I wish it was an hour. We then got off the boat and had to walk back up. We viewed the falls a little big more but it was the late afternoon and it was time for us to leave. I did not want to leave because it was one of the most beautiful things I have ever seen in my life- I completely understand why it is one of the seven wonders of the world. Another reason I did not want to leave is because I know that is is possible I will never return. I could have spend so much more time just staring at the falls and taking it all in. All I can say to you is that if you have the chance, you need to visit Iguazu Falls- add it to your bucket list if it isn't on there already! We then went back to our hotel and had free time until dinner. After dinner we took a nap and then that night we checked out the night life of Iguazu, it was a blast! Sunday we got up early and went to visit an indigenous town, it was cool to see how some of them live, but sad to see how poor they are. We then had lunch and had to catch our plane back to Buenos Aires. We returned last night. It was one of the best weekends of my life. Iguazu Falls were just amazing, I seriously cannot put it into words- you all just have to go. Since I got back I have just been doing homework and trying to catch up on sleep. I will post on here when I can, thanks for reading! Chow! :) 




Leave a Reply.

    Author

    Just a college student following her dream to travel the world. 

    Archives

    No Archives

    Categories

    All