Picture
Wow I got busy fast! I have done so much since I last posted on Thursday! Where to begin?  On Friday I had CEA orientation for the Latin American Studies group. I finally got to meet some great people that are here studying abroad with me. We had about two hours of orientation in a classroom then had lunch. I had empenadas for the first time.... yum!  After we had lunch we went to get our public transportation cards so that when we had to ride the bus or train around the city we don't have to use coins- helps us look less like tourists... even though I can do absolutely nothing about looking like a tourist. Everyone stares a me like I am something they have never seen before, my super pale skin and blonde hair is not too common! After our little journey out to get our cards we had our bus tour around the city! It was roughly a two hour tour and we only saw about 1/4 of the city- it is huge! We saw all of the famous areas and monuments. One of my favorite parts was La Boca, a colorful and fun area of Buenos Aires. This was the only area we got off the bus and got to walk around. I absolutely loved it, all the buildings were very colorful (this area is painted so many different colors because it used to be, and some parts still are, very poor and the people living there could not afford paint so they asked the boats coming into the port for their extra paint. So whatever color they had, they got!) There were lots of outside restaurants, tango dancers, and little shops. I loved it and I want to return soon. We finished our tour at the University of Belgrano (my school I will be attending). The tour was fantastic but I want to venture out and see it all again. Saturday was a full day also! I met up with my friends from my program in Vicente Lopez (where they live) and their host mom drove us and dropped us off by the river so we could walk around. We walked all the way back and found a cafe to get something to eat and drink! We went to a small cafe and I had my first legal drink here in Argentina and had more empenadas. We finished up our late lunch and returned to their home. We then soon left to go to a Carnival celebration not far from their home. It was a huge parade and there were thousands of people! There was fun music and you could just feel the true culture of the city all around you. We stayed there for a few hours and around 9:00 we headed home and had some delicious dinner, I don't know what the name is exactly but it is similar to pizza- same shape and everything but its more of a quiche.. I don't know but it was very good! After that we quickly got ready to have our first night out on the town! We met up with some of the host family's sons friends to take us out and show us the ropes! I got to experience the discotecas here in Argentina- so much fun and so much dancing! It was a fantastic night with great memories... They stay out extremely late, I did not get back until the sun was starting to come up and that is completely normal. It was a great night. Then comes Sunday, you would think I would have been to exhausted because I didn't get back until 6:30 am.. nope, off I go again! That night I went to go visit my friends at their home again because it was Arianah's birthday and their host family was having  a barbecue for her and they invited me. Oh my goodness was that food delicious. There was meat, meat, and more meat! We had beef, chicken, pork and a type of sausage. So good! Many of you may be thinking there was barbecue sauce involved.. nope! None of that, just lots of delicious meat! After dinner their host family serenaded us with their voices and his guitar. He gave us lyrics to songs and had us sing along- it was definitely a night to remember. I slept over at their house because the parents didn't want me taking the bus back to my house alone so late at night. Which brings me to remember my first experience taking a city bus.

 It was my first time taking a city bus and its in a country where there is still a language barrier. My host parents helped me figure out where I needed to get on and get off and which line I needed to take. I made it to my stop and waited for the bus, it finally came and I went on and told him where I needed to go and he said no, this bus doesn't go there. He was very mean and made me get off the bus. I was so confused so I tried again on the next bus that came and he was nicer and explained to me not all buses on the line go that far. I finally figured it out and third time was the charm! I made it! It was definitely a learning experience! Then comes Monday! I was still at the other girls homestay and their mom was going to take them to El Tigre, an area outside of Buenos Aires. It is located right by the river and has an open-air market. While there we got to walk around, there were so many people there! We spent a few hours walking around and looking at what the area had to offer. When we left we had to take the train back... Again, the public transportation did not go very smoothly! First, the train was packed like I have never seen a train packed! We make it on the train and we are probably on the train for about 15 minutes and it stops and says that the train is cancelled and everyone has to get off. Everyone got off the train and there was an announcement that there should be another one in about 15 minutes. After that happened we got back on the train and went on our way. We finally saw our stop and have to push our way through people to get off, and well only two of us got off before the doors closed on us. Two other girls and I were still on the train because we were apparently too slow! So we just had to get off at the next stop and walk about 10 blocks back! It was honestly hilarious and an adventure. After the train I then had to hop on the bus to take it back to my house. It has been an extremely busy few days but it has been a blast. I finally have today to rest and take a break. Tomorrow is University of Belgrano Orientation so it will be another full day! I will post here as soon as I can! Until then, adios! 
Gaby Bittleston
3/11/2014 10:20:05 pm

Hola Katie!! I LOVE YOUR BLOG!!!!!!!! Beso grande, Gaby

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    Just a college student following her dream to travel the world. 

    Archives

    No Archives

    Categories

    All