Picture
Hola a todos! I have just realized it has been more than three weeks since I updated my blog- time sure is flying by! I only have 10 more days until I am home- So hard to believe. Nothing too out of the ordinary has occurred since my last update, I haven't done any traveling but have been still exploring the city of Buenos Aires. May 25 was La Dia de la Revolucion (Revolution Day) This day marks the start of their fight for independence. There is a huge festival in La Plaza Mayo to celebrate the holiday. Some friends and I decided to go and check it out- and oh my goodness was it an experience! The amount people there was absolutely unbelievable- I have never see so many people in my life. Trying to walk a block was extremely difficult and took awhile to accomplish- there were millions of people everywhere. There was music playing, stands selling food, and banners flying over head. It was an amazing experience and something I will never forget. Another thing I visited since the last update was the EX ESMA. This is the location where many of the disappeared people of the dictatorships in the 70's were held. They were military buildings and are now a museum for those to visit and remember all those were killed or disappeared during these years. We saw many of the flyers that were put up by the family members of the disappeared- it is said that close to 30,000 people disappeared or were killed during this Dirty War. Visiting this place was very interesting and moving. It is hard to people this could happen, especially only 45 years ago. We didn't get to go into all of the buildings because we didn't have a reservation but we did get to see some. Some other things that I did these past few weeks was of course buy many things at the open air markets- we have a routine of going every single weekend. I of course been eating my way through Buenos Aries. Last week we went to a churro place where they had warm churros filled with dulce de leche- I think I died and went to heaven, they were to die for! I have been of course been living up the nightlife on the weekends, and no worries I am still going to school. This week is the last week of classes and next week finals start! I cannot believe I only have 10 more days here. The time has absolutely flown by, yet at the same time I feel like I have been living here for forever. It is a bittersweet feeling that I will be going home so soon. My life here has been one busy life but an extremely fun one and I have met so many great people. Well, honestly I can't think of anything more to put in this update. I know I am forgetting things, if I remember I will put them in my next update. I will probably have one more update until I am home! Thanks for reading! Chau for now! Besos

Joan
6/10/2014 09:51:53 am

How and why did they disappear? What was the Dirty War?

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    Just a college student following her dream to travel the world. 

    Archives

    No Archives

    Categories

    All